Buying a Kentucky Titled Vehicle
Kentucky requires that an application for title be made within 15 days of purchase.
What you will need:
• Original Kentucky Title
• Proof of current Kentucky liability insurance for the buyer. Note: The effective date on the proof of insurance card must be within 45 days of the day the card is presented.
• Social Security Number for each new owner(s) appearing on the title or Federal Tax ID Number for companies.
• Title Lien Statement TC96-187E, if applicable
• Titles printed prior to 3/1/2000 will also require an Application for Title TC 96-182
• TITLE ONLY transfers require that plates be surrendered to the county clerk.
*All liens must be terminated prior to transfer.
NOTE: Special plates are not transferrable. Seller must transfer a special plate to a regular plate, in their county of residence, prior to the transfer of any vehicle.
If the seller has lost their Kentucky title, they will need to order a duplicate title.
Any delinquent property tax owed may prohibit title/registration.
Special plates and Personalized plates are available for additional fees. Please see Navigation on the right for design and pricing.
Property tax for your vehicles, trailers and boats are assessed by the Property Valuation Administrator on January 1st of each year. The seller is responsible for property tax on any vehicle registered in their name on January 1. If property tax is delinquent on the vehicle being transferred, it must be paid prior to transfer.
Advalorem taxes on vehicles shall become delinquent following the earlier of the end of the month in which the registration is due or the last day of the second calender month following the month in which a boat was transferred.
HOW WILL ROAD USAGE TAX BE COLLECTED?
A 6% Kentucky road usage tax is collected on the retail price. The retail price is either the purchase price or the NADA retail price. If taxing on the purchase price, the seller must disclose the purchase price on the application TC 96-182, sign as seller and have their signature notarized NOTE:Taxable value cannot be less than 50% of the NADA “trade in” value.
$17.00 Transfer Fee
$21.00 Plate fee *
$22.00 Lien Filing if applicable **
$ 2.00 Clerk Notarization Fee ***
$ 9.00 Title Only
Note: You can pay $16.00 extra and receive a title in 3-5 days. If pending a lien, the title will not mail within the 3-5 days. Title will mail upon filing of the lien.
*Current registration on the license plate will transfer with the vehicle. If the registration is due to expire in the current year, you may renew the vehicle to your birthmonth. License fee is $21.00 per year, prorated to birth month.
**$2.00 Lien Penalty if lien is dated over 20 days
***$2.00 Charge for each signature the clerk notarizes.
ACCEPTABLE METHODS OF PAYMENT
Cash, Certified Check, Cashier’s Check, Money Order, Personal Checks (No Out of State Checks) and Credit Card.
Note: A $2.50 convenience fee is charged to all debit card transactions and a 4% convenience fee* is charged for all credit card transactions. Visa cards are accepted as Debit Only.
*Fee of 4% is based on $50.00 increments.